top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVivi Desme

GL Courses

Updated: Mar 30, 2021

IDS 3309 - How We Know What We Know might have just been one of my favorite classes I have ever taken at FIU. Most of my peers from the Communications and Journalism department took the class as a requirement not knowing what to expect. I felt the same way at first. I was first drawn into the class by the name of the course. It sounded very mysterious but informative. During this class I learned how it is very important to be as creditable as possible when writing pieces or presenting anything in general for the public. Trust goes way back in history. This class taught me something I will always find fascinating: The fact that us humans have evolved to use trust as a way of survival.

AMH 3341 - United States Food History

This class has to do a lot about how the American food history is handled. We all are very aware that a lot of the food we eat is very processed. During this course, students got to learn how to make better lifestyle choices, starting with the food we eat. This class really shines a light on how we are students can choose what we put into our bodies. This class also goes a great job breaking down the history behind the American food industry.

CCJ 4694 - Human Trafficking

Human trafficking is something that many people are very aware of during today's times. It is a reason why many people try their best not go walk out alone at night or train their children to stay away from unwelcomed strangers. This courses brings awareness to how human trafficking works and how awful the practice is. Unfortunately, this goes on every day but it is important to be educated on the topic.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Capstone Experience: South Florida Media Network

As an aspiring young journalist, I have always tried to be as involved in the Communications & Journalism department as much as I can be. This internship allowed me to enhance my news reporting skills

Reflection: Looking back at Global Learning

I started off at FIU back in August 2017. I remember I was struggling with classes because I was going through a tough time at the moment. I would spend my days thinking back at mistakes I made not to

Beyond The Border: Caitlin Dickerson

As a young journalism student myself. I am always eager to learn more about this very competitive field and grow my connections. Every time I have the opportunity to meet a professional reporter or jo

bottom of page